Tags

,

“Unexpected intrusions of beauty. This is what life is.”  Saul Bellow, Herzog

 

IMG_6370trim_1Late in the evening – with the curtains open – I looked over at Mani, and then saw what was tucked into his reflection in the glass.

A Laubfrösch  –  which is a very small tree-frog, only a little bigger than the first joint in my thumb.

I suspect this is the individual who normally claims the kiwifruit vine at its territory – but who hopped around the corner to take advantage of the mosquito-feast attracted to the light.   The mosquito as the victim instead of the persecutor – Yes!  The Laubfrösch is my friend.

IMG_6375trim_1

The other delight about this little creature is that its voice is a thousand times its size.

I think it takes its motto from Jack London:

“I’d rather sing one wild song and burst my heart with it, than live a thousand years watching my digestion and being afraid of the wet.” 

One last look - and off to shout success

One last look – and off to shout success

